Thankful Thursday ~ 1Thessalonians 5:18 Give thanks in all circumstances; for this God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.

Standard

Being thankful….we all like to THINK we are thankful, I mean I am inside my head…that counts right???? Not so much, this is something I need to work on. Like many of you I get caught up in event, object or moment and forget to give thanks to the one who made that possible, the one who made this moment happen. When my husband and I were going through a season of infertility this is a lesson we learned the hard way. In the midst of this we were like most “why us”, “this isn’t fair”, “but we want this so bad” and it wasn’t until we were more like “we are blessed with so much”, “this isn’t in our hands”, “we are thankful for our first born”, then we just turned to God, we made the connection that this really isn’t about us but God’s plan for us and for that I am thankful. I believe he was helping grow us together, making our bond tighter; because that experience was tough and we learned a lot about our emotions personally and as a couple. I am thankful for that season, for without my husband and I wouldn’t have this amazing bond, yes we would still be close but before this season we didn’t pray together, we went to church but didn’t “go” (does that make sense) And yes after two long years we were blessed with our beautiful baby girl (poor hubby 2 daughters) Evelynn and oh the bond has grown even more first with our Lord because oh man did he do an amazing job (proud mom) but with each other as well. We now as a couple go to the Lord with EVERYTHING. big and small, but before we give theses requests or thoughts up we thank him for what we already have the good and yes even then not so hot. 

So today, stop…..stop….take a deep breath and just look up and say THANK YOU. God is good and I know you can find one thing at least to be thankful for, even in your most trying time. 

Leave a Reply

