Interview With Wendy Blight, speaker from Proverbs 31 and author

Standard

ImageSo I am so excited to post my interview with Wendy Blight, you may know her from Proverbs 31 or one of her books she has written (read for more info on her NEWEST book) or even her blog http://wendyblight.com/ . Her bio goes something like this: “Wendy Blight is an author, speaker, Bible study teacher, curriculum writer, attorney, wife and mother. Sparked with the desire and giftedness to share God’s Word, she teaches women to stand on Scripture, understand what it really says, and apply It in their daily lives.” ß Taken from http://proverbs31.org/speakers/wendy-blight/

We were able to chat back and forth about her new book; Living So That: Making Faith-Filled Choices in the Midst of a Messy Life, as well as New Year’s resolutions, and more!

What is your life verse? That one verse that no matter the situation or season of life revives you, brings a smile to your heart, wipes away a tear and pushes you forward.

W: “My life verse is Psalm 40:1-3. Every verse reflects the journey of healing God took me through after I was attacked by an armed, masked man hiding in my apartment. God gave me this verse twenty years after my attack and at the beginning of His calling on my life to be a teacher. Each time I hear it or read it, it reminds me of God’s faithfulness and goodness.”

What is your favorite “studying” technique? Do you have a certain way you dive into the word, a certain time of the day, specific studies you like to follow? I have trained myself to get up in the morning with coffee of course.

W: “If I’m studying on my own, I enjoy starting in one book of the Bible and working through it with a journal by my side. But if I’m writing a Bible study, where I begin depends on what God has laid on my heart. Sometimes it’s a book of the Bible, sometimes it’s a character, sometimes it’s a theme, and with my new study coming out in March, it was two words. And once I decide on the study, I surround myself with Bibles, a Bible dictionary, a Greek-Hebrew Dictionary and commentaries. I LOVE the process of writing a study!! And I’m a morning girl, so I usually spend my mornings studying and writing after I send my son off to school.”

For myself, I am trying this new thing I saw on someone’s blog, where I pick a word in my case words (mom/wife) and you write in a composition note book daily, you write verses you find, maybe tid bits from sermons, or wonderful quotes. Mornings seem to be the quietest time I can find, before my girls wake up!!

Did you make a New Year resolution(s)? I made 3 big ones, focus on growing with Christ, particularly with prayer, find ways so pinch pennies, and find ways to get my family moving.

W: “I use to make New Year’s resolutions. But over the past several years, I have written New Year’s prayers instead. I much prefer these because they tend to be less structured, yet the changes God makes in me spill over into all areas of my life!”

 

What inspired you to want to serve in ministry and what do you like to focus most on? For me it’s a new calling and I am so unsure about 90% of the time where it is calling me, I just know I want to reach families, women specifically through my journey of finding my own way to Christ.

W: “I’m an attorney by training. If you had told me upon graduation from law school that I would have been in ministry, I would have erupted in laughter. Ministry was not on my radar screen at all. Law was my dream. I had a path I wanted to follow. But the practice of law was not what I thought it would be. And although I loved the study of law, I disliked the practice of law. So disappointing after investing so much time and money in my education. But the beautiful irony is that the study habits and writing skills I gained throughout law school and the practice of law benefit me immensely as a speaker, author and Bible teacher. As usual, God knew what He was doing! Within ministry, my heart is drawn toward writing and teaching Bible study. Besides my family, nothing brings me greater joy than to come alongside women and watch God’s Word come alive in their lives!”

Ok so I am going to wrap this up so we can get to sharing info on your new book….. You have to be quick….first 3 W words that pop in your head…..GO….

W: “Wisdom, Water, Wash (can you tell by the last two that I do lots of laundry!)”

So what can you tell me about your new book Living So That: Making Faith-Filled Choices in the Midst of a Messy Life?Image

 

 It will be released on March 4th as part of Thomas Nelson’s Inscribed Studies collection of books. It can be purchased from Proverbs 31. It’s also available on Amazon and at LifeWay. And if you order by March 14th from Proverbs, I will sign the book!

Here is a link to order Wendy’s new book:

http://www.p31bookstore.com/products/living-so-that-making-faith-filled-choices-in-the-midst-of-a-messy-life-1

 Image

Want to hear more from Wendy you can find her here:

http://www.wendyblight.com

http://www.proverbs31.org

http://www.inscribedstudies.com

One thought on “Interview With Wendy Blight, speaker from Proverbs 31 and author

  1. wendyblight

    Thank you so much for the opportunity to be interviewed on your blog. I so enjoyed it and you asked great questions. I pray God continues to bless the work of your hands as you share your heart and God’s Word.

    Blessings,

    Wendy

Leave a Reply

